1and1 Help Centre Categories

print article

Re-Image a 1&1 Server Linux

Learn how to wipe your server clean of all data and perform a new operating system install on the server.

To wipe your server clean of all data and perform a new install on the system, please follow the steps below.

Please note:
All data and system settings will be destroyed by the re-image process. Please backup any vital data before initialising the re-image.
Step 1
Log in to your 1&1 Control Panel and select the relevant package.
Step 2
From the Server Administration panel, click on Server Re-image
Server Administration > Server Re-image
Server Administration > Server Re-image

Step 3
In the text box, enter the root user password that should be set for the new operating system install. Choose the operating system image to install and click Next. Your server data
Your server data
Step 4
Read the disclaimer and verify the root user password to ensure it is correct. If no changes are necessary, click Initialize to begin the re-image. Important notification about the re-image process
Important notification about the re-image process
Step 5
The re-image has begun and the server should be available within the hour. Click Go To Overview to return to the administration section of the 1&1 Control Panel. Re-image in process
Re-image in process
For additional information, you may want to reference: