In this article you will learn how to delete a user from a protected directory, preventing the user from accessing specific files and folders.
To process the deletion, please follow the steps below.
With Linux packages, password protection is enabled via the .htaccess file. When you delete a user from the list, the .htaccess file within the protected folder will be overwritten!
It is suggested that you backup your .htaccess file beforehand if you have manually edited the .htaccess file since enabling protection for this folder. After the .htaccess file is overwritten, you may then edit the file and append your custom text (everything not related to password protection) to it.